Darths & Droids

ARCHIVE     FORUM     CAST     FAN ART     SEARCH     RSS     IPAD     FAQ     ACADEMY    

<     Episode 1697: Presumptive Multitasking     >

Episode 1697: Presumptive Multitasking

<<FIRST     <PREVIOUS     NEXT>     LATEST>>

Two arms? Of course you can do two things at once!

I once made the mistake of running a game in which one of the playable alien PC races had four arms.

Yeah, you can see where this is going already.

Resulting GM advice: If you're going to have a playable PC race with more than the standard two arms, make it very clear up front what capabilities this provides - and doesn't provide - before letting a player select it.

[Reminder: Our guest commentators have not seen Rogue One. Part of the fun is seeing how their untainted impressions re-interpret the movie through the lens of our comic.]

[aurilee has been too busy to write her past few commentaries. They will be added retroactively when she gets time.]

— aurilee

Something seems inconsistent here. In #1694, we had troopers arriving faster than K could kill them. He was overwhelmed, under fire, and it ended with him being hit in the head.

Here? There are no more Imperial troops, and only a single trooper outside the door shooting at him. And that trooper still drops in one shot.

I'm trying to understand the apparent inconsistency here. How do you go from troopers arriving faster than you can kill them, and being overwhelmed, to one shot, one death and no incoming fire?

In panel 5, K is shooting at the trooper without even looking. Without looking.

This is supposed to be a look at the movie through the eyes of the comic. Clearly, the movie is a comedy, making fun of the entire genre, being deconstructionist and not taking itself seriously.

— Keybounce

Transcript

K-2SO: I'll try to hack the terminal to open the vault.
GM: Okay. Your Hacking skill is pretty low though.
[SFX]: Pow! Pow!
K-2SO: I return fire!
GM: Are you shooting or are you hacking?
K-2SO: I've got two arms! I can do both!
GM: You'll have to take a -4 penalty to both.
K-2SO: Pow! 7!
GM: Is that before or after subtracting 4?
K-2SO: Before.
GM: Well, you hit anyway.
[SFX]: Pow!
Chirrut: I helped her design this character.


Irregular Webcomic! | Darths & Droids | Eavesdropper | Planet of Hats | The Prisoner of Monty Hall
mezzacotta | Lightning Made of Owls | Square Root of Minus Garfield | The Dinosaur Whiteboard | iToons | Comments on a Postcard | Awkward Fumbles
Published: Tuesday, 28 August, 2018; 03:11:03 PDT.
Copyright © 2007-2017, The Comic Irregulars. irregulars@darthsanddroids.net